Stephanie Wright to Lead Community Transit Board

Stephanie Wright to Lead Community Transit Board

Feb 3, 2017

Lynnwood's Chris Boyer named alternate

Snohomish County, Wash. – Snohomish County Councilmember Stephanie Wright yesterday was selected as the new chair of the Community Transit Board of Directors, replacing Marysville Mayor Jon Nehring, who will remain on the board. Stanwood Mayor Leonard Kelley was named vice chair and Mukilteo Mayor Jennifer Gregerson was named secretary by their peers on the transit board.

“I appreciate the great work Mayor Nehring has done in leading our board as we launched a major service expansion,” said Community Transit CEO Emmett Heath. “I look forward to working closely with Councilmember Wright as we continue to bring new transit service to Snohomish County as part of the solution to regional traffic congestion.”

Chris BoyerLynnwood City Councilmember Rev. M. Christopher Boyer was introduced as a board alternate representing large cities. Boyer was initially appointed to the Lynnwood City Council in December of 2012 and was elected to the position in 2013. Boyer became pastor of Good Shepherd Baptist Church in Lynnwood in 2005, following a 27-year theater career as an actor, director, technician, administrator and educator.

Board members

The Community Transit Board of Directors is comprised of nine elected officials from Snohomish County and the cities within the transit agency’s service district, as well as a labor representative selected by the agency’s bargaining units. There are five alternate board members. The board approves the budget and sets policy direction for the agency.

Board members represent small, medium and large cities, by population, except for the two county council representatives.

Community Transit’s Board members and alternates are:

Large Cities (35,000 population and above)

  • Dave Earling, Edmonds Mayor
  • John Nehring, Marysville Mayor
  • Chris Boyer, Lynnwood City Council member, alternate

Medium Cities (25,000-35,000 population)

  • Jennifer Gregerson, Mukilteo Mayor, Board Secretary
  • Jan Schuette, Arlington City Council member
  • Mike Todd, Mill Creek City Council member
  • Patsy Cudaback, Monroe City Council member, alternate
  • Jerry Smith, Mountlake Terrace Mayor, alternate

Small Cities (15,000 population and under)

  • Tom Hamilton, Snohomish City Council member
  • Leonard Kelley, Stanwood Mayor, Board Vice Chair
  • Joe Neigel, Sultan City Council member, alternate

Snohomish County

  • Terry Ryan, Council member
  • Stephanie Wright, Council member, Board Chair
  • Alternate not selected

Labor Representative

  • Lance Norton

Community Transit is responsible for providing bus and paratransit service, vanpool and alternative commute options in Snohomish County. The agency is building a network of Swift bus rapid transit lines with Swift Blue Line along Highway 99 and the Swift Green Line between Canyon Park/Bothell and Boeing/Paine Field coming in 2019.