Jon Nehring Selected as Board Chair

Jon Nehring Selected as Board Chair

Feb 6, 2020


Snohomish County, Wash. – Marysville Mayor Jon Nehring was selected by his peers to serve as chair of the Community Transit Board of Directors for 2020.

Stanwood Mayor Leonard Kelley was selected as the board


’s vice chair, and Lake Stevens City Council Member Kim Daughtry was chosen as secretary.

The Community Transit board is comprised of nine elected officials from Snohomish County and the cities within the transit agency’s service district, as well as a labor representative selected by the agency’s bargaining units.

Board members for 2020 include:

  • Arlington City Council Member Jan Schuette

  • Labor Representative Lance Norton

  • Lake Stevens City Council Member Kim Daughtry

  • Lynnwood Mayor Nicola Smith

  • Marysville Mayor Jon Nehring

  • Mill Creek Council Member Mike Todd

  • Snohomish City Council Member Tom Merrill

  • Snohomish County Council Member Stephanie Wright

  • Snohomish County Council Member Nate Nehring

  • Stanwood Mayor Leonard Kelley

Board alternates include:

  • Brier Council Member Mike Gallagher

  • Bothell Council Member James McNeal

  • Edmonds City Council Member Laura Johnson

  • Mukilteo Council Member Joe Marine

  • Snohomish County Council Member Terry Ryan

Community Transit is responsible for providing bus and paratransit service, vanpool and alternative commute options in Snohomish County. The agency is building a network of Swift bus rapid transit lines with Swift Blue Line serving Highway 99 between Everett and Shoreline; Swift Green Line serving Bothell-Everett Highway, 1228th and Airport Road between Bothell and Boeing/Paine Field; and the new Swift Orange Line coming to Mill Creek and Lynnwood in 2024.