Safe and Healthy Tips for Riding Transit
Here's what we're doing to help keep our customers and employees healthy and safe.

News Releases

Media Contact

To stay up-to-date, visit our home page for the latest news headlines. We also tweet updates @MyCommTrans and on our blog.

For background information, interviews or photos about Community Transit, please contact:

On-duty Public Information Officer
(425) 438-6156

Public Disclosure Requests

Please visit our Online Request Portal to make your public disclosure request. Fro any questions, please call our Public 

Latest Headlines

Lynnwood Mayor among Three New Community Transit Board Members

Jan 17, 2020

Nicola Smith, Nate Nehring and Tom Merrill join transit board

Lynnwood Mayor Nicola Smith, Snohomish City Councilmember Tom Merrill, and Snohomish County Council Chair Nate Nehring were each elected to a two-year term on the Community Transit Board of Directors yesterday. All jurisdictions within the transit agency’s service district meet every two years to choose nine board representatives.

“Lynnwood is the hub of South Snohomish County,” Smith said. “Community Transit has been a terrific partner in working with our city as we plan for light rail, and I hope to strengthen the bond by serving on Community Transit’s Board of Directors.”

New Board Members Lynnwood Mayor Nicola Smith, Snohomish County Council Chair Nate Nehring and Snohomish City Councilmember Tom Merrill

Sound Transit’s Link light rail will reach Lynnwood and Mountlake Terrace in 2024. Community Transit is engaged in a “Vision 2024” effort to expand and realign its bus service to integrate with the light rail system by that time.

New members

The Community Transit board is comprised of nine elected officials from Snohomish County and the cities within the transit agency’s service district, as well as a labor representative selected by the agency’s bargaining units.

The new board members were selected by a vote of their elected official peers. Besides the three new members, those who were re-elected to the board include Arlington City Councilmember Jan Schuette, Lake Stevens City Councilmember Kim Daughtry, Marysville Mayor Jon Nehring, Mill Creek Councilmember Mike Todd, and Stanwood Mayor Leonard Kelley. Snohomish County Councilmember Stephanie Wright was also chosen to return to the board to serve as the second representative from the Snohomish County Council. Lance Norton was selected to continue serving as a non-voting Labor Representative to the board.New Board Alternates Brier Councilmember Mike Gallagher, Bothell Councilmember James McNeal, Mukilteo Councilmember Joe MarineBoard alternates were chosen yesterday as well. Brier Councilmember Mike Gallagher, Bothell Councilmember James McNeal, Mukilteo Councilmember Joe Marine, and Snohomish County Councilmember Terry Ryan will serve as board alternates for the next two years. The City of Edmonds was also selected as an alternate; if it chooses to fill this role the representative will be named at a later date.

The new board will elect officers at its first meeting on Thursday, Feb. 6.


Community Transit is responsible for providing bus and paratransit service, vanpool and alternative commute options in Snohomish County. The agency is building a network of Swift bus rapid transit lines with Swift Blue Line along Highway 99, the Swift Green Line between Canyon Park/Bothell and Boeing/Paine Field, and the new Swift Orange Line coming to Mill Creek and Lynnwood in 2024.