Marine and Roberts to join Community Transit Board of Directors
Masks mandatory on all bus service

News Releases

Media Contact

To stay up-to-date, visit our home page for the latest news headlines. We also tweet updates @MyCommTrans and on our blog.

For background information, interviews or photos about Community Transit, please contact:

On-duty Public Information Officer
(425) 438-6156

Public Disclosure Requests

Please visit our Online Request Portal to make your public disclosure request. Fro any questions, please call our Public 

Latest Headlines

Marine and Roberts to join Community Transit Board of Directors

Oct 20, 2020

Mountlake Terrace Mayor selected to serve as board alternate

Snohomish County, Wash. –Mukilteo City Council Member Joe Marine and Stanwood City Council Member Sid Roberts were selected to serve on the Community Transit Board of Directors. In addition, Mountlake Terrace Mayor Kyoko Matsumoto Wright was selected to serve as a new board alternate.Joe Marine and Sid Roberts

The changes come after two members recently left the transit board. Mill Creek City Council Member Mike Todd resigned from his council seat to become Mill Creek Director of Public Works and Community Development, and Stanwood Mayor Elizabeth Callaghan decided to reduce her board commitments outside of city work.

The Community Transit board is comprised of nine elected officials from Snohomish County and the cities within the transit agency’s service district, as well as a labor representative selected by the agency’s bargaining units. City representatives are selected by city population size.

Yesterday, small cities (under 15,000 population) representatives selected Roberts as a new board member. Roberts had previously served as a Community Transit board alternate when he was on the Lynnwood City Council. Medium cities (between 15,000 and 35,000 population) representatives then selected Marine as a new board member. Marine had been a board alternate, so the group selected Matsumoto Wright to serve as the new board alternate. Marine had previously served on the Community Transit board and is a past board president.

Current board members are:

  • Arlington City Council Member Jan Schuette
  • Labor Representative Lance Norton
  • Lake Stevens City Council Member Kim Daughtry (vice chair)
  • Lynnwood Mayor Nicola Smith
  • Marysville Mayor Jon Nehring (chair)
  • Mukilteo City Council Member Joe Marine
  • Snohomish City Council Member Tom Merrill
  • Snohomish County Council Member Stephanie Wright
  • Snohomish County Council Member Nate Nehring
  • Stanwood City Council Member Sid Roberts

Current board alternates are:

  • Brier City Council Member Mike Gallagher
  • Bothell City Council Member James McNeal
  • Edmonds City Council Member Laura Johnson
  • Mountlake Terrace Mayor Kyoko Matsumoto Wright
  • Snohomish County Council Member Jared Mead

Community Transit is responsible for providing bus and paratransit service, vanpool and alternative commute options in Snohomish County. The agency is building a network of Swift bus rapid transit lines with Swift Blue Line serving Highway 99 between Everett and Shoreline; Swift Green Line serving Bothell-Everett Highway, 1228th and Airport Road between Bothell and Boeing/Paine Field; and the new Swift Orange Line coming to Mill Creek and Lynnwood in 2024.