Board of Directors & CEO | Community Transit
Masks mandatory on all bus service

Board of Directors & CEO

The Board of Directors, as the governing body of the Corporation, establishes policy and legislative direction for the agency.

The Board defines the organization’s mission, establishes goals and approves the budget to accomplish those goals. Working closely with the Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Board members represent the agency’s position to the public, in the legislature, and in the community. They are responsible for hiring, supervising, and evaluating the CEO.

Board members establish their performance standards and abide by all state and local laws with regard to Board member conduct and protocol, as well as the corporation’s by-laws, resolutions, and procedures. The CEO and the corporation’s legal counsel report to the Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors consists of ten members, nine of whom are elected officials selected by the respective governing bodies of the county and component cities within Community Transit’s service area, as follows:

  • Two members and their alternate from the governing body of the county.
  • Two members and an alternate from cities with populations of 35,000 or more.
  • Three members and two alternates from cities with populations between 15,000 and 35,000.
  • Two members and an alternate from cities with populations less than 15,000.

In addition, the Board has one non-voting labor representative.

Ric Ilgenfritz, CEOHeadshot of Ric Ilgenfritz, CEO

Ric Ilgenfritz joined Community Transit as CEO in January 2021. As CEO, Ric leads a workforce of more than 800 employees, guiding the agency’s mission and vision, and providing organizational leadership to deliver high-quality, innovative public transportation options to the people of Snohomish County.

Ric’s career has been committed to public service. He is a seasoned transit leader with nearly 20 years of executive experience in public transit. Prior to joining Community Transit, Ric spent more than 16 years as a member of the executive leadership team at Sound Transit, working to plan and implement a more robust regional transit network to strengthen communities and support our economy. He led multiple departments including Planning, Environment, Project Development, Customer Service, and Communications. He also served as Vice President for the Puget Sound region at David Evans and Associates, where he was responsible for transportation business development including transit, roads, highways, and structures throughout Snohomish County and the region.

Ric has a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism from the University of Oregon. He has been active in the American Public Transportation Association, the Urban Land Institute, and Railvolution. Ric grew up in the Pacific Northwest. He and his spouse raised their three grown children in Seattle.


Board of Directors

Board Chair, Kim Daughtry, Council Member
Board Vice-Chair: Joe Marine, Council Member
Board Secretary: Jan Schuette, Council Member
Board Member: Jared Mead, Council Member
Board Member: Tom Merrill, Council Member
Board Member: Jon Nehring, Mayor
Board Member: Lance Norton, Labor Representative
Board Member: Sid Roberts, Council Member
Board Member: Nicola Smith, Mayor
Board Member: Stephanie Wright, Council Member

Board Alternates

Board Alternate: Mike Gallagher, Council Member
Board Alternate: Kristiana Johnson, Council Member
Board Alternate: Kyoko Matsumoto Wright, Mayor
Board Alternate: James McNeal, Council Member
Board Alternate: Nate Nehring, Council Member