News / Published on Oct 24, 2022

Snohomish Co. Council Member Strom Peterson joins Community Transit Board of Directors

Snohomish County, Wash. – Snohomish County Council Member Strom Peterson has joined the Community Transit Board of Directors, attending his first meeting yesterday as a newly appointed member.

Peterson replaces outgoing board member, Stephanie Wright. Peterson was recently appointed to the Snohomish County Council representing District 3 which includes Lynnwood, Edmonds, Woodway and a part of unincorporated Snohomish County.

“I’m pleased to join the Community Transit board and represent the people of Snohomish County during this unprecedented time of growth,” said Strom Peterson. “As a long-time resident and former business owner, I appreciated the importance of a strong transit network to meet the needs of our changing community.”

The Community Transit board is comprised of nine elected officials from Snohomish County and the cities within the transit agency’s service district, as well as a labor representative selected by the agency’s bargaining units.

In addition to Peterson, current board members are:

  • Board Chair: Joe Marine, Mukilteo Mayor
  • Board Vice-Chair: Jan Schuette, Arlington City Council Member
  • Board Secretary: Tom Merrill, Snohomish City Council Member
  • Board Member: Kim Daughtry, Lake Stevens City Council Member
  • Board Member: Christine Frizzell, Lynnwood Mayor
  • Board Member: Jared Mead, Snohomish County Council Member
  • Board Member: Jon Nehring, Marysville Mayor
  • Board Member: Lance Norton, Labor Representative
  • Board Member: Sid Roberts, Stanwood Mayor

Board Alternates

  • Board Alternate: Mike Gallagher, Brier City Council Member
  • Board Alternate: Kyoko Matsumoto Wright, Mountlake Terrace Mayor
  • Board Alternate: Nate Nehring, Snohomish County Council Member
  • Board Alternate: Susan Paine, Edmonds City Council Member
  • Board Alternate: Mason Thompson, Bothell Mayor