Callaghan Selected to Serve on Community Transit Board

Callaghan Selected to Serve on Community Transit Board

Aug 7, 2020

New Stanwood Mayor selected to serve on board; officers chosen


Stanwood Mayor and CT Board member Elizabeth CallaghanSnohomish County, Wash. – Newly appointed Stanwood Mayor Elizabeth Callaghan has been selected to serve on the Community Transit Board of Directors. In addition, Lake Stevens City Council Member Kim Daughtry was named board vice chair and Mill Creek City Council Member Mike Todd was named board secretary today.

The changes come after former Stanwood Mayor Leonard Kelley resigned his position last month due to health reasons. Kelley was the Community Transit board’s vice chair, a former chair and had served on the agency’s board since 2014.

A group of small cities (under 10,000 population) representatives met on Aug. 4 and selected Callaghan as a new board member. Callaghan has served two terms on the Stanwood City Council and was selected by her peers to serve as mayor after Kelley’s resignation.

At today’s regular monthly board meeting, members chose the new officers.

The Community Transit board is comprised of nine elected officials from Snohomish County and the cities within the transit agency’s service district, as well as a labor representative selected by the agency’s bargaining units.

Board members for 2020 include:

  • Arlington City Council Member Jan Schuette

  • Labor Representative Lance Norton

  • Lake Stevens City Council Member Kim Daughtry (vice chair)

  • Lynnwood Mayor Nicola Smith

  • Marysville Mayor Jon Nehring (chair)

  • Mill Creek Council Member Mike Todd

  • Snohomish City Council Member Tom Merrill

  • Snohomish County Council Member Stephanie Wright

  • Snohomish County Council Member Nate Nehring

  • Stanwood Mayor Elizabeth Callaghan

Board alternates include:

  • Brier Council Member Mike Gallagher

  • Bothell Council Member James McNeal

  • Edmonds City Council Member Laura Johnson

  • Mukilteo Council Member Joe Marine

  • Snohomish County Council Member Jared Mead

Community Transit is responsible for providing bus and paratransit service, vanpool and alternative commute options in Snohomish County. The agency is building a network of Swift bus rapid transit lines with Swift Blue Line serving Highway 99 between Everett and Shoreline; Swift Green Line serving Bothell-Everett Highway, 1228th and Airport Road between Bothell and Boeing/Paine Field; and the new Swift Orange Line coming to Mill Creek and Lynnwood in 2024.